Virtual Satsang

Resources for the community of seekers

2011 Yoga Journal Conference in SF

leave a comment »

For a second year in a row, I enjoyed walking around, running into friends, and soaking up the vibe. I thought the panel discussion on Yoga and the Whole Man was pretty good, and Rod Stryker did a good job making sure things flowed nicely. I particularly enjoyed listening the Richard Freeman, who combined wit & wisdom, with stories from his travels. Rod highlighted the following factoid: while most attendees (and yoga students) are female, most of the presenters at the conference (and senior teachers) are male. This might explain why the most popular strains of yoga in the US tend to be more aggressive and masculine in sensibility (e.g. ashtanga). OTOH, the growing interest in seva among yogis has largely been led by female teachers.

As a bonus I splurged and bought my favorite Yoga mat (which was on sale!), talked to a few vendors, and carefully walked around the many acro yogis, who I have to say may want to develop a better sense of (public) space. The snippets I saw of Yogaglo surprised me, the quality of the video is quite high. Knowing myself, I definitely prefer supporting local teachers if at all possible. But if you don’t have the time to go to nearby class, or can’t quite find one that fits your needs, online classes might be an option for you.

Written by virtualsatsang

January 17, 2011 at 1:25 am

Posted in Seva, Yoga

Leave a Reply

